top of page
Search

What Does Easter Mean to You?

Parts of this article were originally posted in the HBC Accord magazine in April 2019


Easter is a special time in the Christian calendar. It is a time when Christians around the world celebrate that Christ died at Calvary and rose again. However, it is important to note that in addition to this, Easter means different things to different people. We spoke to both adults and children at HBC and asked them to tell us what Easter means to them. We hope you enjoy reading their reflections. We also encourage you to take some time out this Easter to consider what this time means to you. If you would like to share with the HBC Accord team, we would love to hear from you!


Children's Reflections


"It means Jesus died on the cross to save our sins. He rose again from the tomb and went back to heaven. There were also two sinners next to Jesus who did not rise again. We remember Jesus’ body and blood with wine and bread when we partake in remembrance of his death." Ethan


"Easter is a very special time to me because it’s one of the most important times in history because it was Jesus’ crucifixion and resurrection." Deanna


Easter to me is one of the best times of the year because it reminds me how I should live because Jesus died for me and he lives. Easter gives me the chance to see everything God and his son have done for me" Esther


"Easter is a very special time to me because Jesus died and came back to life." Jessica




Adult's Reflections


"Easter, for me is my Saviour paying his life for me. He saved me and cleansed all my sins. He is my redeemer, my all in all. When I see the cross I see freedom in the name of Jesus. Amen" Felicia


"As I get older Easter has more meaning and more importance to me. That there is life after death, and that Easter Sunday is a real time to celebrate Jesus being our Risen Saviour. I like the period of lent leading up to Easter when we can reflect and prepare to celebrate on Easter Day." Mike


"Easter means hope, freedom and Jesus Christ's victory over death. His resurrection symbolises the eternal life that is given to all who believe in Him. If He had merely died and not been resurrected, He would have been just another teacher, but His resurrection changed all that and gave final and irrefutable proof that He was the Son of God and He conquered death once and for all. What a wonderful Saviour!" Lavinia


"Easter/Resurrection day means hope to me, reassurance and confidence that Jesus is real and God is God!" Ugo


"Easter is one of the oldest Christian festivals, and although it was originally a pagan celebration, it has now become a time to remember and celebrate Jesus's resurrection. It is a celebration of Jesus’ victory over death. His resurrection means a lot to those who believe in him. If he did not resurrect Jesus could have been considered as any other person. But his resurrection serves as proof that he is the Son of God. " Miston


"Easter to me is the day when Jesus died for my sins. It's a very important time for me because it reminds me of the day when Christ bought me from my sins" Beatrice


"One of the first verses I learnt to recite was John 3:16: ‘For God so loved the world, that He sent His only begotten son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have everlasting life’. This verse remains true today and is a summary of what Easter means to me. It represents a time of hope and gratitude. I am grateful for the gift of salvation and I am encouraged that one day we will be reunited with God in our heavenly home." Joan


"As they entered the tomb, they saw a young man dressed in a white robe sitting on the right side, and they were alarmed. “Don’t be alarmed,” he said. “You are looking for Jesus the Nazarene, who was crucified. He has risen! He is not here. See the place where they laid him." M A R K 1 6 : 5 - 6 N I V



86 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page